Skip to main content

1980 Charter Commission



The 1980 Consolidation Charter Commission formed in January 1980 and held regular meetings until November of that year. All told, there were 11 principal members of the Charter Commission: Ross H. Hicks, Chairman of the Commission; Frank Hinton, Vice Chairman; Bobby Reynolds, Chairman of the Personnel Subcommittee; Bobby Powers, Chairman of the Public Safety and Courts Subcommittee; R.C. Shasteen, Chairman of the Finance Subcommittee; Henry Lentz, Chairman of the Public Works Subcommittee; Frank McGregor, Chairman of the Council and Executive Subcommittee; Faye Smalley, Chairperson of the Education Subcommittee; Olive Abernathy, Chairman of the Departments, Boards and Agencies Subcommittee; Jim Crosby, Chairman of the Utilities Subcommittee; O.B. Moorehead, Secretary of the Charter Commission.

The Charter Commission spent 10 months developing a Proposed Charter, a new form of Metro government that could be approved or denied by the citizens of Clarksville and Montgomery County in the February 1981 election. The Proposed Charter was rejected by the public.

Found in 1 Collection or Record:

1980-1981 Clarksville and Montgomery County Consolidation Charter

Identifier: 2021.037

Ross H. Hicks served as the chairperson for a government consolidation commission in 1980. Over the course of 10 months, the commission drafted a proposed charter for a consolidated government in Clarksville and Montgomery County. The proposed charter was rejected by the public in February 1981. This collection includes commission documents, meeting minutes, and personal documents from the desk of Ross H. Hicks.

Dates: 1980 - 1981